Boeing 737-300/400/500 (CFM56) to Boeing 737-600/700/800/900 (CFM56) B1.1 / B2 Differences Theoretical

Boeing 737-300/400/500 (CFM56) to Boeing 737-600/700/800/900 (CFM56) B1.1 / B2 Differences Theoretical

Program Details

This course:

  • Uses a full range of learning techniques to prepare an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer to efficiently and confidently operate, maintain and repair all Airframe, Engine, Electrical and Avionic systems to the required level.
  • Provides participants with knowledge necessary to perform and certify the maintenance tasks within the scope of the licence held.
  • Includes detailed description, operation, component location, maintenance practices, as well as BITE and troubleshooting procedures to a maintenance manual level.

Upon completion of this course, the trainee will have acquired the theoretical knowledge required to exercise the privileges of a Category B1.1 and/or B2 licence holder.


This course satisfies Category B1.1 and B2 Type Training requirements as specified in CASR and EASA Part 66 and ATA 104 objectives as below for licensed aircraft maintenance engineers required to exercise certification privileges.

Level 1 General Familiarisation:

A brief overview of the airframe and powerplant as outlined in the Systems Description section of the aircraft maintenance manual.

Level 2 Ramp and Transit:

Basic System overview of controls, indicators, principal components, including their location and purpose, servicing and minor troubleshooting.

Level 3 Line and Base Maintenance:

In addition to the information contained in level 1 and level 2 training, upon completion of level 3 training, the participant will be able to:

  • Describe how to perform system, component and functional checks as specified in the maintenance manual.
  • Correlate information for the purpose of making decisions in respect of fault diagnosis and rectification to the maintenance manual level.
  • Describe procedures for replacement of components unique to the aircraft to maintenance manual level.


Trainees must hold a:

  • B1.1 and/or B2 theoretical credit for the Boeing 737-300/400/500 (CFM 56), or
  • B1.1 and/or B2 licence rating for the Boeing 737-300/400/500 (CFM 56).

Persons enrolling in this training program must have an English speaking proficiency suitable to meeting the ICAO Annex 1 and Annex 10 requirement ICAO Doc 9835.

The Category B1.1 and B2 Theoretical Element Training (TET) for this program consists of Face-to-Face Instructor-Led Training using the QAC Traditional Classroom and / or Virtual Instructor-Led Training using the QAC Virtual Classroom.

Aircraft Maintenance Engineers (AME) or Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineers (LAME) intending to acquire a variation to their Part 66 Category B1.1 and/or B2 Aircraft Maintenance Licence.

The Theoretical Element Training assessments are multi-choice examinations and are carried out in accordance with QAC procedures approved by CASA and / or EASA and include closed book, multi-choice examination held at the end of the instructional phase.

There are a number of phase examinations at regular intervals throughout the course.  The minimum pass mark for each examination is 75%.


  1. Theoretical examinations held in the QAC Traditional Classroom, are invigilated by the QAC Instructor.
  2. Theoretical examinations held in the QAC Virtual Classroom (Web Based), are invigilated by a QAC Approved Invigilator.
  3. It is your responsibility as the student enrolling onto this course, to organise / nominate an Invigilator for your examinations and have your nominated Invigilator QAC approved a minimum of 2 weeks prior to course commencement otherwise your enrollment will not be processed.
  4. The person you nominate to act as your Invigilator will need to provide QAC with a copy of their CV and a Letter of Employment.
  5. Invigilators provide their invigilation service on a pro bono basis, and are usually colleagues who meet the requirements to be an Invigilator, as set out below:
    1. Potential Invigilators should be in a position of responsibility within an organisation and not be able to benefit from access to the QAC examinations.
    2. Typical Invigilators could be, but are not limited to, Justices of the Peace, or Aviation Post Holders such as Quality Manager, Accountable Manager, Training Manager, MRO Manager, CAMO, etc.
    3. They may already be a qualified Invigilator with another organisation.